meTunes Logo
World wide library of music and performers

J Mascis

Joseph Donald Mascis

Also known as J, J. Mascis, J.Mascis, J.Masols, Jay Mascis, Joseph Mascis, Mascis
This performer (group) in the Internet:,

Discography of J Mascis:

Click to release title to look at track list of the album
# Cover Release title Total tracks Download release in mp3 Imprint date Label
1 Martin + Me 14 mp3 1996
2 J Mascis Live At CBGB's: The First Acoustic Show 12 mp3 2006
3 The John Peel Sessions 13 mp3 2003 Strange Fruit
4 Album 14 mp3 1996 WEA Records
5 Leaving On A Jet Plane b/w Too Hard 2 mp3 2001-09-00 Sub Pop
6 Jean Sandwich 4 mp3 2011-03-00 Heroine Celestial Agriculture
7 Several Shades Of Why 10 mp3 2011-03-15 Sub Pop
8 Several Shades Of Why 10 mp3 2011-03-15 Sub Pop
9 Daytrotter Session 5 mp3 2011-06-06 Daytrotter
10 Is It Done 2 mp3 2011 Sub Pop
11 Not Enough 3 mp3 2011 Sub Pop
12 J Mascis Live At CBGB's: The First Acoustic Show 12 mp3 2006
13 Circle 2 mp3 2011-11-22 Sub Pop
14 Several Shades Of Why 20 mp3 2011
15 Big Orange Studios 6/6/2011 5 mp3 2011-06-06 Daytrotter
16 Several Shades Of Why 10 mp3 2011-03-15 Sub Pop
17 Fade Into You 2 mp3 2013-07-00 Keep
18 Several Shades Of Why 12 mp3 2011-03-02 P-Vine Records
19 Tied To A Star 10 mp3 2014 Sub Pop
20 Tied To A Star 10 mp3 2014 Sub Pop
21 Tied To A Star 10 mp3 2014-08-26 Sub Pop
22 Tied To A Star 10 mp3 2014-08-25 Sub Pop
23 J Mascis Live At CBGB's: The First Acoustic Show 12 mp3 2014-09-08 Music On Vinyl
24 Several Shades Of Why 10 mp3 2011-03-15 Sub Pop
25 J Mascis Live At CBGB's: The First Acoustic Show 12 mp3 2014 Music On Vinyl

Best known as the remote frontman of the influential indie trio [a=Dinosaur Jr.], [b]J Mascis[/b] was also an occasional producer and film composer. Born December 10, 1965 in Amherst, Massachusetts, he first emerged as a member of the hardcore unit Deep Wound, founding Dinosaur in 1984. Over the course of acclaimed LPs like 1987's You're Living All Over Me and 1988's Bug, the group emerged among the most highly regarded in alternative rock, with [b]J Mascis[/b]' creaky, [a=Neil Young]-like vocals and monolithic guitar leads becoming primary influences on the burgeoning grunge movement. The group temporarily disbanded in 1989, largely to allow the legendarily non-communicative singer the opportunity to dismiss bassist [a=Lou Barlow], who went on to form [a=Sebadoh]; in the meantime, [b]J Mascis[/b] sat in on drums with a series of bands, among them [a=Velvet Monkeys, The] and GobbleHoof, even producing the latter's eponymous 1990 LP. Upon re-forming Dinosaur Jr. in 1991, he scored Allison Anders' independent film Gas Food Lodging a year later, making a cameo appearance in the picture itself; he and Anders became regular collaborators in the years to follow, most notably on her feature Grace of My Heart. In the meantime, [b]J Mascis[/b] also produced records for pals including fIREHOSE (Mr. Machinery Operator) and Tad (Inhaler), and in 1996 issued his solo debut Martin and Me. After 1997's Hand It Over, Dinosaur Jr. disbanded. Keeping on with his personal musical eclecticism, [b]J Mascis[/b] and his new outfit [a=J Mascis + The Fog] issued More Light in fall 2000. Featuring appearances from avant garde guitarist [a=Kevin Shields] and [a=Guided By Voices] vocalist Bob Pollard, the record was a fine return to form that excited Dinosaur Jr. fans who had been disappointed with his acoustic record. A tour with Elf Power followed, featuring longtime friend [a=Mike Watt] on bass and [a=Stooges, The] guitarist Ron Asheton at several tour dates. It was his riff-heavy jams with Asheton and Watt that inspired much of the music he started writing for his follow-up, as well as several skydiving experiences. When he stepped back into the studio, he kept the guest appearances down to a minimum and recorded Feel So Free for a 2002 release.

Comments about J Mascis:

Play online without registration J Mascis all albums in mp3 download a single file or separately.
Caution! All audio materials of J Mascis are presented solely for information. After listening to the trial version, you must remove the file mp3 or buy the product from an authorized supplier.
(C) 2015 All rights are reserved by their respective owners.

On this site you can find any kind of music except for MP3 download. This website is an encyclopedia of music in all formats. Here you can not download free music in mp3 or listen online. On the site there are no links to download free mp3 music. Buy music only from official suppliers of audio content. All rights belong to their respective owners.