meTunes Logo
World wide library of music and performers

Butterfly Child

Joe Cassidy

Members of Butterfly Child: James Harris (2), Joe Cassidy, Pendle (2), Richard Thomas (2)
This performer (group) in the Internet:

Discography of Butterfly Child:

Click to release title to look at track list of the album
# Cover Release title Total tracks Download release in mp3 Imprint date Label
1 Eucalyptus 6 mp3 1992 H.ark!
2 Beaujolais 4 mp3 1994 Dedicated
3 Flaming Burlesque 4 mp3 1995 Dedicated
4 Ghetto Speak 4 mp3 1993 Rough Trade
5 The Honeymoon Suite 12 mp3 1995 Dedicated
6 Beaujolais 4 mp3 1994 Dedicated
7 No Longer Living In Your Shadow 2 mp3 2012 Dell'Orso Records
8 Onomatopoeia 12 mp3 HitIt! Recordings
9 Soft Explosives 19 mp3 1998

Butterfly Child created some of the most luxuriant, romantic and intoxicating music to be released in the 90s. Based around tumbling jazz rhythms, glacial guitars and the bewildered voice of Joe Cassidy (Belfast, Northern Ireland), the project began in 1991, releasing two EPs on AR Kane's h.Ark! label. Onomatopoeia, Butterfly Child's debut collection of precarious pop collages was a revelation, a masterpiece: Melody Maker's Taylor Parkes judged the album's seductive, celebratory pop to be "Astral Weeks at five years old . . . like trampolining in a conservatory flooded with sunlight." The follow-up, The Honeymoon Suite, sounded utterly inebriated on love with lines like "Bang goes your head, the light bulbs flash/You know what it's like on one of those days/You're so inspired, it's like the rockets are tied to you" ("Ghost On Your Shoulder") arousing the unmatched joy of a newly-formed relationship. The lyrics to the album's final song "I Shall Hear In Heaven" were even arranged in acronymic fashion so that the first letters of each line spelled out the name of Cassidy's lover, to whom the album was dedicated. Aborting recording sessions in the UK, Cassidy relocated to Chicago, USA to record his third album. Curiously, Soft Explosives drew occasional comparison to Oasis, a band previously perceived as Butterfly Child's emotional and aesthetic antithesis. The touching, elegant result of recordings sessions with a quartet of drummers and a 12-piece orchestra, the album seemed to provide a counterpoint to The Honeymoon Suite's love-struck deliriousness. Yet while the album may have ended with the poignant "The Sound Of Love Breaking Apart", on tracks like "Big Soft Mouth" and "Drunk On Beauty", Butterfly Child still sounded smitten: "If you've ever been drunk in a pub, staring at someone beautiful, just watching them move, in a blur, this was probably the music in your head," judged US magazine Pitchfork of the release.

Comments about Butterfly Child:

Play online without registration Butterfly Child all albums in mp3 download a single file or separately.
Caution! All audio materials of Butterfly Child are presented solely for information. After listening to the trial version, you must remove the file mp3 or buy the product from an authorized supplier.
(C) 2015 All rights are reserved by their respective owners.

On this site you can find any kind of music except for MP3 download. This website is an encyclopedia of music in all formats. Here you can not download free music in mp3 or listen online. On the site there are no links to download free mp3 music. Buy music only from official suppliers of audio content. All rights belong to their respective owners.